The Emily “Paddy” V. Wade Fellowship for Science is awarded annually for the purpose of funding “discovery science”—science that contributes to our basic understanding of the natural world.  The award was established to honor Paddy Wade who served as Chair of the Board of Trustees of Manomet from 1993 to 2010 and continues to serve as member of the Board of Trustees today.


This year’s awardee is Brad Winn, Director Shorebird Habitat Management.  He will be conducting a field research project titled:  Identifying Migration Strategies of Hatch-Year Whimbrels. Using solar powered transmitters ­­­­and Argos Satellites, this project holds significant potential for major scientific discovery.  There is virtually nothing known about the migration paths used by juvenile Whimbrels on their first flights from the arctic and subarctic to wintering grounds. 


The Linda E. Leddy Fellowship for Sustainability is also awarded annually. The award is given each year to a program staff member at Manomet who is supporting action on sustainability within a community or sector.  This award honors Linda E. Leddy who served as President of Manomet from 1984 to 2008 and her vision for broadening Manomet’s mission from being a long-term environmental research and education organization, to one focused on putting science to use in partnership with diverse stakeholders.


Anthony Jaccarino, Sustainable Economies Senior Program Manager is this year’s awardee.  His is project will be working directly with Chambers of Commerce to provide higher levels of participant engagement and advance the practice of Community Centric Sustainability for a region’s business population.  Using the newly created Root360° assessment tool, the goal is to engage small and medium sized businesses as a sustainability partner to help them improve performance across the ESG (environmental, social and governance) spectrum.